Telephonic appearance system

Important information about scheduling an appearance

The Placer County Superior Court has a court-run remote telephonic appearance system. To schedule a telephonic appearance:

  • Review the rules for your case type below, to determine which form is required.
  • File the telephonic request form for your case type with the court if required.
  • Sign up for your appearance using the link at the bottom of this page.

 

Keep in mind:

  • Telephonic appearances must be scheduled by 4:00 PM the day before the hearing.

Family Law & Family Support

Eligible hearing types for family law and family support can be viewed in the attached “Family Law & Family Support Hearing Types” document. Hearing types that require judicial approval will require parties to submit a form to the court as listed below.

I have a family law hearing that does not require judicial approval.

  • Schedule your telephonic appearance at the link found at the bottom of this page. No form is required.

 

I have a family law hearing that requires judicial approval.

 

I have an emergency request hearing that requires judicial approval.

  • File Local Form PL-FL016: Request for Telephonic Appearance (Family Law) by noon (12:00pm) the day prior to your hearing. Consider if you wish to make an annotation to item 3 on the form. The form may be filed by fax for these hearings.
  • If your request to appear telephonically is approved, schedule your telephonic appearance at the link found at the bottom of this page.

 

I have a Family Support Hearing.

Civil Law

The various types of Civil Law hearings that allow remote telephonic appearances can be accessed in the attached “Civil Law Hearing Types” document. Civil law cases/hearing types that allow telephonic appearances include, but are not limited to the following: Probate, Conservatorship, Guardianship, Law and Motions and Case Management Conferences (CMC). See Local Rule 20.8.

Telephonic Appearance Fee/Payment

Pursuant to California Rules of Court rule 3.670(k)(1), the fee to appear by telephone is $94 for each appearance. The court will accept:

  • eChecks
  • Visa Credit Cards
  • Mastercard Credit Cards.

NO cash, paper checks or a debit account will be accepted.
If a party has a fee waiver for the case, the telephonic appearance fee is waived.

Late Payment

Pursuant to California Rules of Court Rule 3.670(k)(2):
A late request fee of $30 is to be charged for telephonic appearances scheduled less than two days before the scheduled hearing.

(A) When an opposing party has provided timely notice under (h)(4) on an ex parte application or other hearing, conference, or proceeding, no late fee is to be charged to that party;

(B) When the court, on its own motion, sets a hearing or conference on shortened time, no late fee is to be charged to any party;

(C) When the matter has a tentative ruling posted within the two day period, no late fee is to be charged to any party; and

(D) When the request to appear by telephone is made by a party that received notice of another party's intent to appear and afterward decides also to appear by telephone under (h)(2), no late fee is to be charged to that party if its request is made to the court providing the service by noon on the court day before the hearing or conference.

The court reserves the right to audit telephonic appearances scheduled online. If the court finds that a party has made a late appearance per CRC 3.670 and a false selection was made, the party will be charged the additional $30 and may be referred to collections.

Refunds/Cancellation

Pursuant to California Rules of Court rule 3.670(k)(3):
A fee of $5 is to be charged instead of the fees under (1) and (2) if a party cancels a telephone appearance request and no telephone appearance is made. A hearing or appearance that is taken off calendar or continued by the court is not a cancelation and there will be no charge.

To Cancel:

  • Cancel the original appearance online before 9:00 AM on the day of the hearing to receive a refund.
  • If your hearing date is continued without being heard, you MUST cancel the original appearance online and schedule a new appearance online for the continued date. Payments WILL NOT transfer to another date or appearance.
  • If your hearing results in a continuance, you must schedule a new appearance online if you wish to appear telephonically on the continued date.

 

Provided you have canceled your appearance by 9:00 AM on the day of the hearing, a refund of $89 will be credited back to your account.

 

If you feel you are entitled to also receive a refund of the $5.00 fee or a refund of any fees not automatically granted, you must submit your request in writing to the court to:


Placer Superior Court
Attn: Finance Department
PO Box 619072
Roseville, CA 95661


Please include the case name and number, attorney name, address where the refund should be sent, receipt number, original date of payment, amount of refund being requested and a reason for the refund. Refund requests must be sent within 30 days of the original date of payment. Letters may include more than one case for which a refund is being requested. Any refunds resulting from a written request will be issued in the form of a check.

Scheduling Confirmation

Following the completion of scheduling online, you will receive an email confirming your telephonic appearance. The confirmation will contain:

  • a toll-free dial-in # for the telephonic appearance,
  • a conference ID and;
  • a PIN.

 

If you do not receive a confirmation email within two hours, call (916) 408-6405 for assistance.

Day of Appearance

Call the number in the confirmation email at least five (5) minutes before your scheduled hearing time.
When prompted, dial the conference ID and PIN in your confirmation email.
The clerk will check you in and place you on mute until your case is called.
Keep in mind:

  • Calling from cellphones or payphones is not allowed
  • Do not use speakerphone when your case is called.
  • Do not interrupt ongoing proceedings if you call in late.

Issues Arising During the Scheduled Appearance

For assistance while on mute, please dial *00 on your keypad, and an operator will assist you. If any other issues arise during your appearance, please call (916) 408-6405.

If you join the call while court is already in session, the clerk will be aware that you have joined the call due to your unique PIN. Please do not interrupt ongoing proceedings.

I agree to the above disclaimer and wish to schedule or cancel a Telephonic Appearance
© 2019 Superior Court of Placer County