The Placer County Superior Court has instituted a new court-run remote telephonic appearance system. At this time remote telephonic appearances are limited to Civil and Family Law hearings. All telephonic appearances must be scheduled via the court’s website (by clicking the link at the bottom of the page). You cannot register for a telephonic appearance over the phone. If you are scheduling appearances for multiple cases on the same day, you must use a different email address for each appearance. They cannot be scheduled later than 3:00 PM the day before the hearing, and they must be scheduled at least 48 hours in advance of the hearing in order to not incur a $30 late fee.
For more information on the transition to the new telephonic appearance system, please see below.
Civil law cases/hearing types that allow phone appearances include, but are not limited to the following: Probate, Conservatorship, Guardianship, Law and Motions and Case Management Conferences (CMC). See Local Rule 20.8.
The various types of Civil Law hearings that allow remote telephonic appearances can be accessed in the attached “Civil Law Hearing Types” document.
Family law cases/hearing types that allow phone appearances include, but are not limited to the following: Petition Hearing, Demurrer, Default/Court Judgment, Motion Hearing, Exparte Motion and Hearings. In order to appear via remote telephonic appearance, parties must request to appear by telephonic appearance from the judicial officer AND schedule the appearance through the website. If a party schedules an appearance, but the judicial officer denies the request, the party will need to cancel the appointment online. See below for Refund/Cancellation instructions.
The various types of Family Law hearings that allow remote telephonic appearances can be accessed in the attached “Family Law Hearing Types” document.
Other Case Types
Remote telephonic appearances are limited to Civil and Family Law hearings at this time.
Telephonic Appearance fee / Payment
Pursuant to California Rules of Court Rule 3.670(k)(1), the fee to appear by telephone is $86 for each appearance. The court will accept eChecks and Visa and Mastercard credit cards only. The court will NOT accept cash, paper checks and the court does not offer a debit account. If a party has a fee waiver for the case, the telephonic appearance fee is waived.
Pursuant to California Rules of Court Rule 3.670(k)(2):
An additional late request fee of $30 is to be charged for an appearance by telephone if the request to the vendor or the court providing telephone services is not made at least two days before the scheduled appearance, except:
(A) When an opposing party has provided timely notice under (h)(4) on an ex parte application or other hearing, conference, or proceeding, no late fee is to be charged to that party;
(B) When the court, on its own motion, sets a hearing or conference on shortened time, no late fee is to be charged to any party;
(C) When the matter has a tentative ruling posted within the two day period, no late fee is to be charged to any party; and
(D) When the request to appear by telephone is made by a party that received notice of another party's intent to appear and afterward decides also to appear by telephone under (h)(2), no late fee is to be charged to that party if its request is made to the vendor or the court providing the service by noon on the court day before the hearing or conference.
The court reserves the right to audit scheduled appearances made online. If the court finds that the party has made a late appearance per CRC 3.670 and a false selection was made, the party will be charged the additional $30 and may be referred to collections.
Following receipt of the payment, you will receive an email confirming your telephonic appearance. The confirmation will contain the toll-free dial-in for the telephonic appearance, a conference ID and a PIN. If you do not receive confirmation within two hours, call (916) 408-6405 for assistance. You will also receive an SMS and/or email reminder the day prior to the hearing.
Day of Appearance
Call the number stated in your email confirmation at least five minutes before your scheduled hearing time. Please note that the court does not permit telephonic appearance by cellphone or payphone. When prompted, dial the conference ID and PIN stated on your confirmation. The clerk will check you in, then place you on mute until your case is called. Once your case is called, you are not permitted to be on speakerphone.
Issues Arising During the Scheduled Appearance
If you need assistance while on mute, please dial **00 on your keypad, and an operator will assist you. If any other issues arise during your appearance, please call (916) 408-6405. If you join the call while court is already in session, the clerk will be aware that you have joined the call due to your unique PIN. Please do not interrupt ongoing proceedings.
Pursuant to California Rules of Court Rule 3.670(k)(3):
A fee of $5 is to be charged instead of the fees under (1) and (2) if a party cancels a telephone appearance request and no telephone appearance is made. A hearing or appearance that is taken off calendar or continued by the court is not a cancelation under this rule. If the hearing or appearance is taken off calendar by the court, there is no charge for the telephone appearance. If the hearing or appearance is continued by the court, the appearance fee must be refunded to the requesting party or, if the party agrees, be applied to the new hearing or appearance date. Failure to cancel and notify the court will result in the forfeiture of the appearance fees.
You must cancel the original appearance date in order to receive a refund. All cancellations must be completed online by 9:00 AM on the day of the hearing to receive a refund. Full refunds including the $5.00 fee will only be issued for cases that were cancelled or continued by the court without being heard (not for cases where a hearing occurred and resulted in a continuance). If your hearing date is continued without being heard, you MUST cancel the original appearance date and reschedule/complete a new transaction for the continued date. Payments WILL NOT transfer to another date or appearance. If your hearing results in a continuance, you must complete a new transaction if you wish to appear telephonically on the continued date.
Provided you have canceled your appearance by 9:00 AM on the day of the hearing, a refund of $81 will be credited back to your account. If you feel you are entitled to also receive a refund of the $5.00 fee or a refund of any other fees, you must submit your request in writing to the court to:
Placer Superior Court
Attn: Finance Department
PO Box 619072
Roseville, CA 95661
Please include the case name and number, attorney name, address where refund should be sent, receipt number, original date of payment, amount of refund being requested and the reason for refund. Refund requests must be sent within 30 days of the original date of payment. Letters may include more than one case for which a refund is being requested. Any refunds resulting from a written request will be issued in the form of a check.